Rules for players and teams participating in the LCU Leagues
An Cumann Fichille Laighean
The Leinster Chess Union is the body responsible for promoting and organising chess in the Province of Leinster, Ireland.
LCU Cups
15-Apr-2014 Entries are now being accepted for the Branagan Cup, Killane Shield and William Brennan Cup. Matches will be played over six boards in all competitions. There is no limit to the number of players a team can utilise over the course of the competition. Players can only play for one team in each of the cups. The Branagan Cup is for players who have played in either division one or division two last season. The Killane Shield is open to players who have played in divisions 3 - 6 last season. The William Brennan Cup is for players rated under 1500. Ratings will be based on the ICU Live Ratings after the LCU Leagues for 2013 - 2014 have been rated. Entries to be sent to John Healy ( The entry fee is 20 per team and the closing date for entries is Friday 25th April. Click here to download Rating List
Final Round of the Leagues
28-Mar-2014 The final round of the leagues will be held on Sunday 13th April 2014. The venue is the Teachers Club, 36 Parnell Square West, Dublin 1. Divisions 2, and 4 (Heidenfeld and O'Hanlon) will be played in the morning. Divisions 1, 3 and 5 (Armstrong, Ennis and BEA) will be played in the afternoon. The morning session will commence at 10am and the afternoon session will commence at 3pm. Teams must bring their own boards sets and clocks. Prizes will be presented at the completion of each session.
Malahide Millenium Tournament & Leinster Championships
23-Mar-2014 The Malahide Millennium Tournament is taking place from 3rd to 5th May 2014. The tournament will also incorporate the Leinster Championships. There will be 3 sections - Senior (over 1800 ICU/FIDE), Intermediate (1400-1799 ICU) and Junior (under 1400 ICU). Click here for full details.
O'Connell Cup 2014
18-Mar-2014 The O'Connell will be held on 18th May 2014 in ALSAA Sports Club, Old Airport Road, Dublin Airport, Co Dublin. This is a team event and Clubs and Schools can enter a maximum of two teams to the event. Each team will comprise four players. There will be two sections. Section A for players rated between 700 and 1000 and Section B for players rated below 700 and unrated. Play will commence at 10am. Please enter by emailing before Friday 16th May.
Finglas Chess Club have moved...
12-Feb-2014 Finglas Chess Club have moved to new premises. They now meet at Dublin City Council Senior Citizens Complex, Brookville Court, North Road, Finglas, Dublin 11. They meet every Tuesday night except the last Tuesday of each month. New members are always welcome. Click on the following link to view map and contact details. Finglas Chess Club
Click on Contacts to get contact details for members of the LCU Executive and the League Controllers.
Click on the link below to find out whats happening on the Leinster Junior chess scene.
There are 31 clubs affiliated to the Leinster Chess Union. Here you will find addresses, meeting times etc. and a Google map showing each club's location.
Results of each player who has played in the leagues since 2003. ICU rated players have a chart of their rating since 2000.